Activating a new delegate host

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
Activating a new delegate host

I am trying to setting a resource (delegate) host with Zenoss 5. My master host has been setup for almost a year (upgraded to CC 1.2.1-1; Zenoss 5.2.1). I just built a delegate host using the instructions on Zenoss.com (CC 1.2.2-1), including setting up all the SERVICED variables. I can add the delegate host into CC on my master host and the delegate is able to authenticate, but it's not listed as "active".

When I go to move a service over to the delegate host it doesn't work. The health check keeps failing. When viewing journalctl on the delegate there are no logs indicating a problem or the service even attempting to move to the delegate.

Any thoughts on what might be the cause?

Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
I rebuilt my delegate host

I rebuilt my delegate host and tried adding it into control center and I still ran into the same problem.

I rebuilt my master host and added the delegate host to the fresh install and ran into the same problem.

The only log message I see that might pertain to this would be this sequence:

serviced[11336]: time="2017-02-13T22:09:27Z" level=info msg="Received new authentication token" expiration=1487027367 location="token.go:55" logger=auth
 serviced[11336]: time="2017-02-13T22:09:32Z" level=info msg="Determined pool assignment for this delegate" hostid=853e7002 location="daemon.go:814" logger=cli.api master="<ip_address>:4979" poolid=default
serviced[11336]: time="2017-02-13T22:09:38Z" level=info msg="Updated master with delegate host information" hostid=853e7002 location="daemon.go:826" logger=cli.api master="<ip_address>:4979" poolid=default
serviced[11336]: W0213 22:10:27.935340 11336 connection.go:257] timed out waiting for connection

I'm also upload a picture of what I'm seeing in Control Center.

Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
Both system are on the same

Both system are on the same subnet. That being said, here's a port scan:

PORT      STATE SERVICE
22/tcp    open  ssh
53/tcp    open  domain
80/tcp    open  http
111/tcp   open  rpcbind
443/tcp   open  https
2049/tcp  open  nfs
2181/tcp  open  unknown
4242/tcp  open  vrml-multi-use
4979/tcp  open  unknown
5000/tcp  open  upnp
5042/tcp  open  unknown
5043/tcp  open  unknown
8443/tcp  open  https-alt
20048/tcp open  unknown
22250/tcp open  unknown
42710/tcp open  unknown
50000/tcp open  ibm-db2
53651/tcp open  unknown
 

Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
These are built as VMs. I

These are built as VMs. I built another delegate host on the same virtual host as the master host, connected to the same vSwitch, and I still have the same problem. 

Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
I figured it out on my own.

I figured it out on my own.

 

The documentation is missing a couple of variables that should be setup, even in a two host setup:

SERVICED_MASTER_IP

SERVICED_ZK

I had setup the SERVICED_MASTER_IP out of common sense. I had to also set SERVICED_ZK for the host to become active. This isn't stated in the documentation.

Mailforsachin
Mailforsachin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: 03/09/2017 - 05:42
Posts: 3
Can you elaborate what are the steps you followed?

Hi @bschimm - Can you elaborate the steps?

Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
You'll need to follow Zenoss'

You'll need to follow Zenoss' documentation, but also setup the following variables in /etc/default/serviced

SERVICED_MASTER_IP

SERVICED_ZK

These will need to be set to your master host IP.

Mailforsachin
Mailforsachin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: 03/09/2017 - 05:42
Posts: 3
I missed removing the curly braces

wow..thanks..now it is solved.. How did you figure it out that serviced_zk needs to be set as well?

Bschimm
Bschimm's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 46 min ago
Joined: 11/20/2015 - 11:54
Posts: 65
Trial and error based on

Trial and error based on educated guesses.

I worked my way to the conclusion that the issue was with serviced since the host was authenticating and ports were definitely open. I just started going through serviced variables I thought might contribute to the issue, usually skipping over the ZK variables because I'm not using ZK.

Obivously I ended up changing that variable. The default value lists "SERVICED_MASTER_IP" so I gave it a shot.

Log in to post comments